11/12 Days of Cocktails, a bit late.

Standard

Shit guys, I got to number 10 in our super awesome 12 days of cocktails countdown and then Christmas happened and I forgot. If it’s OK with y’all, I am gonna just combine this post to tell you about my 2 new favorite cocktail things this year. Cool?

  1. I have a new cocktail crush and I’ve been craving it hard for the last few weeks. We’re all aware of the Gimlet, a classic no frills cocktail, but switch up your London Dry for a Scottish Gin and you’ve got something special. A Hendricks Gimlet is quite perfect–tart from the juice, sweet from the sugar and just a hint of cucumber to round it out. Like I said, perfect.

gimlet

 

2. Books are cool in the fact that they teach you things. This book teaches you about things that get you drunk, so that’s extra cool, yeah? There are tons of mixology and spirits books out there, but one I picked up this year has sort of stuck with me. “Distilled” by Joel Harrison and Neil Ridley is an awesome intro to spirits. Each chapter focuses on a different type, with a history synopsis, how it’s made and how to use it. I dig the simplicity of it, an easy read for those dipping their toes into the spirited pond of wonder.

Distilled

Leave a Reply

